The 52

Women In Film recently lay down the gauntlet for everyone who loves film and is interested in promoting women. They launched a pledge (which you can find at http://www.womeninfilm.org/52films) to watch a film a week for a year directed by a woman. They claim that one of the barriers to female directors is a perceived lack of  role models, that many people cannot name a female director.

That got me thinking. Drew Barrymore, Andrea Arnold, Sophia Copolla………. I started to draw a blank…….. at a push I would have said ‘The one who did The Hurt Locker’. And that was it. I could name three. I had considered myself a big film fan and an even bigger advocate of women in the arts. This was embarrassing.

So I’ve taken the pledge. I will watch a film directed by a woman every week for a year and will write a review of each one.

Leave a Reply

